CAREER CATALOG: KC FASHION WEEK

After the many closures of events due to COVID, I never thought that I’d be able to walk in KCFW for another two years. I was heartbroken to hear that the original designers that I was meant to walk for, pulled their collections out for the season. Then, back in early August, I received an email from one of the cordinators that I was selected as a model for Gracie Key’s fall line. I was so happy to hear that all my dreams weren’t shattered. I was so thankful that I still had some type of a creative outlet to turn to.

For those of you unaware of what fashion week is, it’s a week where the top designers have an opportunity to show off their brand that they have worked so hard on. Most people have heard of NY Fashion Week, but let’s not forget other designers who represent the smaller cities.

Because of the pandemic, KCFW was done this year like never before – Virtually. We were called three separate days (depending on how many designers you walked for), to a beautiful, old, tourist train station. It was actually really neat to see the transformation. The event was set up in the center ballroom of the station, you wouldn’t even know that it was a train station based off of how well the footage and photos turned out!

Check out this video to get an accurate timeline of the events that took place:

https://cinnamon.video/watch?v=410799206517703732

When it was the designated time, each designers models took a total of three walks down the catwalk in front of three camera teams. One team, recorded the walk as a center wide shot, another followed but within closer proximity to the models face and outfit, and another to snap photos (which you’ll see below!) After about two weeks, we were finally able to view the photos from our designers collections and they all turned out fabulous. Here’s a few from the Gracie Key collection:

Her designs are inspired by women’s fashion in the 1950s as well as layering. You can find Gracie and her designs on Instagram: @graciekey.designs

I had an incredible time walking in this event and would love to continue to be apart of another KCFW season.

Make sure you check out this video of me working the runway! Sorry for the quality, we had to record the event:

https://cinnamon.video/watch?v=417127413806270369

Subscribers!!! Below, I have posted more photos from the runway!!

Continue reading with a Coil membership.