CAREER CATALOG: Spring Awakening

This was one of the hardest shows I’ve had to do. The thoughts in the back of my mind of whether or not it would be THE LAST really nagged at me. As a performer, knowing that you probably won’t get to finish the run because of a global pandemic with an unknown return date really hits different. This WAS the last show I did before quarantine, and for it to be my last show of the year, I was pleased.

To put it simple, Spring Awakening is about a group of German adolescents trying to gain a grip on their sexuality and life in general. Wendla, the leading lady of the show, is impregnated by her love interest Melchior Gabor, which causes greater conflict not only within herself but with her parents as well as her group of friends. Of course within this hour and a half show, there are more complex stories that you’ll have to hear for yourself! Check out the Spring Awakening OBC Album or perhaps read the synopsis!

The production I was in was produced at Faust Theatre, a small theatre company formed by Zach Faust. Zach, has become a friend near and dear to my heart. I heard about him all around town when I first moved here a year ago, and I remember thinking, “Who's this Zach guy?” I hadn't actually met him until we were recruited to be apart of Charlie Brown Christmas that same year at The Coterie Theatre. From there, we discovered that we were both Leos destined for greatness. During the final weeks of Charlie Brown Christmas, Zach was holding auditions for Spring Awakening. I was still fairly new to the city, so I was skeptical about the seriousness of putting on a production of Spring Awakening, which deals heavily with sexuality, suicide, abuse, etc... But I took a leap of faith and auditioned anyway, and earned a spot. Let me just say, I've never been in an audition where a director who has actually wanted to see me moonwalk (as I had listed on my resume as a special skill)! So I'd like to give a special thanks to Zach!

I was so happy that I made the decision to be apart of something that was cut too short. Due to the pandemic breaking out amongst the US, we were only able to do a hand full of live performances, with a weeks worth still left undone. Luckily, one of my good friends (who came all the way down from Nashville), my boyfriend, and his friends were able to catch the very last performance. I am so incredibly thankful for their attendance.

The amount of professionalism from the cast, team, and directors came to my surprise. We were able to put together a great production for the limited time that we had. The thing that I appreciate about Zach and his company, is that they can turn little into big. We spent ample time rehearsing the music (we rehearsed it so much I still remember my difficult part to this day lol) in the comfort of his home, which gave the experience its own heartbeat. There were days where we even rehearsed scenes in bedrooms because we needed the space! To bring 20 people into the heart of your home for a project you’re bringing to life, is really monumental in my opinion. After the musical rehearsals were complete, we moved to the performance space which was in the basement of an old church that sat downtown! It was what they call a “black box theatre”. At first, it was a simple room with black walls and grey carpeted floors which was actually great for singing, but then it magically transformed into a “playground” for artists. The additives were simple yet effective. I'll let these photos speak for themselves:

[Seated on the chairy tree left to right, Jenna Pellow, me, and Emma Mathieson]

The centerpiece was a chairy tree... haha, get it? CHERRY tree? What a clever idea! It signified the meeting grounds/center place for all of the characters. They all may have been in their own worlds, but they each found a connection with this tree. It was a... contemplating place. As you can also see through the photos, the viewer chairs were pretty close to the set and they stayed there. The audience members had a close and possibly uncomfortable seat on purpose, so they could truly get a feel for what the characters were going through and to feel fully immersed in the realm of the show. The costumes, lights and movement added a greater layer of art.

Oh, Ilse

I never thought I'd be playing a dead girl... Well we interpreted her as dead.

There are many different versions of the production, and the story line is so complex that there are many interpretations of who Ilse is. Some play her as if she were alive and well, and as a runaway, and some view her as a figment of their imaginations. I was originally interested in the role of Martha. Having never really listened to the soundtrack but once or twice, or seeing a production of Spring Awakening, I felt like I resonated with her story more than anyone else's. But once I got the text that I was playing Ilse my mind was changed. I knew while later listening to the soundtrack over and over again on the way to Philadelphia to visit family, that the decision was justified. I started connecting to Ilse on a deeper level. She's a misunderstood being who will do anything to fulfill her needs even if that means she has to stand alone. Even as the performances went on I understood her more and more. Unfortunately, I said goodbye to this role too soon.

The last song we sung, which happens to be the last song of the show, was The Song of Purple Summer. It's my favorite song as Ilse and as an ensemble. Take a listen,

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vZZtcAPS3j0

What a tribute to 2020. I believe that this song is saying that even though we may go through tough times, we can get through it together, and that there is still beauty in the things we view as imperfect. I wouldn't want to end my last 2020 musical experience any other way.

None of this would've been possible without the

Team of the Production:

Zach Faust – Director

Timothy Houston – Assistant Director

Grace Urquhart – Stage Manager

Jessica Michael – Assistant Stage Manger

Ophelia Lee – Costume Designer/Tech Designer

Delano Mendoza – Music Director

Mandy Morris-Newman – Choreographer

LD – Intimacy Coach

I hope you're a subscriber! You can view more BTS photos beyond this darn line!

Continue reading with a Coil membership.